Broadcast Dialogue Article – February 13, 2003

The Canadian Association of Broadcasters Task Force on Cultural Diversity has announced that it will be
undertaking a comprehensive study on cultural diversity. The Task Force has contracted the team of Solutions Research Group/Johnston and Buchan, LLP to carry out comprehensive research aimed at assisting the industry in measuring the state of portrayal and representation of cultural diversity on private TV. The Task Force is comprised of nine members, five industry and four non-industry representatives. Co-Chair for industry is Madeline Ziniak, VP/GM at Omni Television in Toronto. The non-industry Co-Chair is Bev Oda. Other members are: Stefany Mathias, a hereditary Chief of the Squamish Nation; Marie Anna Murat, a freelance journalist and on-air personality in Quebec; Raj Rasalingam, President of the Pearson-Shoyama Institute, a national public policy think tank; Elaine Ali, Sr. VP, CTV Stations Group; Sarah Crawford, VP Public Affairs - CHUM Television; Rita Cugini, VP, Regulatory Affairs and Business Development for Alliance Atlantis Communications; and, Philippe Lapointe, VP, Information et Affaires publiques, TVA.