FrancaisSite MapContact UsHome
 

Canadian Association of Broadcasters

About the CAB
Copyright Issues
Radio Sector
Television Sector
Specialty & Pay Sector
Research & Submissions
Social Policy Issues
CAB Updates
CAB Members
Industry Related Links
What's New
 
October 27, 2014
CAB Technical Update

More




Television Sector > LPIF

The Local Programming Improvement Fund

FAQs
  1. What is the LPIF?
  2. Why was the LPIF created by the CRTC?
  3. Where do the funds come from?
  4. Will the BDUs’ costs associated with funding the LPIF be passed along to consumers?
  5. What television stations will receive funding?
  6. How is the funding allocated among markets and among stations?
  7. What are the eligibility criteria?
  8. What is considered local programming and local presence?
  9. What expenses are eligible for funding?
  10. How do I apply for funding?
  11. Who administers the LPIF?
  12. What is the governance structure of the LPIF?
  13. What is the frequency of funding distribution to eligible stations?
  14. When can eligible television stations expect to receive their first cheque?
  15. What are the obligations imposed on funding recipients?
  16. What oversight does the Commission maintain of the LPIF?
  17. Where can I get more information on the LPIF?

 

1. What is the LPIF?

The Local Programming Improvement Fund (LPIF) is, as its name suggests, a fund established to help finance the costs of local television programming by private and CBC/SRC-owned and operated television stations. Local programming is defined as programming produced by local stations with local personnel or programming produced by locally-based independent producers that reflects the particular needs and interests of the market’s residents. The CRTC projects that LPIF will total $102 million in the 2009-2010 broadcast year.

Back to top

 

2. Why was the LPIF created by the CRTC?

The LPIF was created by the CRTC to ensure that viewers in small markets (fewer than 1 million people) continue to receive a diversity of local programming including local news programming and to improve the quality and diversity of local programming that is broadcast in these markets.
Back to top

 

3. Where do the funds come from?

Pursuant to Public Notice CRTC 2008-100 and Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2009-543 , licensed Class 1 broadcast distribution undertakings (BDUs) serving 20,000 customers or more are required to contribute a percentage of their revenues. Licensed BDUs include all licensed Class 1 BDUs serving 20,000 or more subscribers. Licensed BDUs with fewer than 20,000 subscribers as of August 31, 2009 are not required to contribute to the LPIF. Pursuant to Broadcasting Policies 2009-406 and 2009-543, licensed BDUs are required to contribute 1.5% of gross revenues based on their revenues for the 2008-2009 broadcast year.
Back to top

 

4. Will the BDUs’ costs associated with funding the LPIF be passed along to consumers?

In paragraph 357 of Public Notice 2008-100 the Commission noted the following: “[i]n light of the performance levels of the BDU sector and the benefits accruing to BDUs as a result of other changes being made to the regulatory framework, the Commission is of the view that there is no justification for BDUs to pass along any increased costs relating to the LPIF estimated to be on average approximately $0.50 per month – to their subscribers.”

Back to top

5. What television stations will receive funding?

Eligibility for LPIF support is determined by the CRTC. According to Public Notice CRTC 2008-100, funds in the LPIF are to be directed to local private and CBC/SRC owned and operated over-the-air local television stations operating in non-metropolitan markets (defined as television markets in which the population with knowledge of the official language of the station is less than one million). Minority language stations (i.e. a French language station operating in an English language market and vice versa), will receive funding from the envelope of funds made available to stations in majority language non-metropolitan markets.

Back to top

6. How is the funding allocated among markets and among stations?

One-third of the total funding will be allocated equally to stations across both Francophone and Anglophone markets, the amount of which will be determined by the number of stations eligible for funding. Two-thirds of funding will be allocated based on eligible stations’ historic spending on local programming (calculated by dividing the sum of the average three year historical spending multiplied by the individual station’s average three year local spending). 30% of this amount will be allocated to Francophone markets and 70% to Anglophone markets. The CRTC calculates the amount of funding to be allocated to all eligible stations.
Back to top

 

7. What are the eligibility criteria?

In order to receive funding a station must broadcast a minimum level of local programming in the community it serves. In instances where local programming levels have been harmonized, English language stations in non-metropolitan markets will be required to broadcast seven hours of local programming per week and French language stations in non-metropolitan markets will be required to broadcast five hours per week. Where local programming levels have not been harmonized local television stations will be required to maintain their existing local programming levels if they wish to be eligible for funding.
Back to top

 

8. What is considered local programming and local presence?

As noted above, local programming is defined as programming produced by local stations with local personnel or programming produced by locally-based independent producers that reflects the particular needs and interests of the market’s residents. Due to the regional nature of some conventional stations, the Commission will allow a local station that has historically been or is currently permitted to count regional programming towards meeting its local programming commitments to continue to do so for the purposes of meeting the requirements related to accessing the LPIF. The Commission expressly encourages local stations to maintain a local presence. Local presence is defined as providing seven-day-a week original local news coverage distinct to the market employing full-time journalists on the ground in the market and operating a news bureau or news gathering office in the market.
Back to top

 

9. What expenses are eligible for funding?

Only expenses directly associated with the production of local programming will be considered eligible. Direct expenses are defined by the Commission in Circular No. 426 as expenses solely attributable to the acquisition or production of programming. This includes, salaries, benefits paid to staff who work exclusively in the programming department, non-staff talent fees, films, tapes, props, sets, program vehicle operating costs, and any other program-related materials and supplies. Expenses related to the provision of live closed captioning of local programming by independently-owned small market stations is also eligible.
Back to top

 

10. How do I apply for funding?

No application is required. The CRTC determines which stations are eligible for funding. The fund administrator informs all eligible stations (based on the CRTC’s determination) and automatically allocates funding to them.
Back to top

 

11. Who administers the LPIF?

In Broadcasting Policy CRTC 2009-406, the CRTC designated McCay, Duff & Company Management Ltd. as the LPIF fund administrator.
Back to top

 

12. What is the governance structure of the LPIF?

A not-for-profit corporation is in the process of being established to oversee the administration of the LPIF. The corporation will be governed by a Board of Directors comprised of representatives, beneficiaries of, and contributors to the LPIF. The role of the Board is to oversee the administration of the LPIF in the manner directed by the CRTC, as described in Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2009-406. In addition, consistent with Public Notice CRTC 1999-29, all members of the Board are Canadian; not more than one-third of Board members represent BDUs; representatives of BDUs have the right to cast not more than one-third of votes in a directors’ meeting; and all decisions are made by majority vote. Pursuant to Public Notice 2008-100, the fund administrator is required to file a public annual report setting out data intended to allow the Commission to determine the LPIF’s success.
Back to top

 

13. What is the frequency of funding distribution to eligible stations?

Eligible stations will receive funding on a monthly basis. For further details on the calculation of the monthly installment, please refer to paragraphs 23-25 of Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2009-543.
Back to top

 

14. When can eligible television stations expect to receive their first cheque?

Eligible stations can expect to receive their first cheques early in the 2009-2010 broadcast year.
Back to top

 

15. What are the obligations imposed on funding recipients?

Stations that receive LPIF funding will have to disclose funds received through the LPIF and the annual expenditures associated with LPIF funding to the Commission their annual returns. Annual reports must be filed with the Commission no later than November 30th of each year. These reports will be made available on the Commission’s website.

Back to top

 

16. What oversight does the Commission maintain of the LPIF?

A panel of three CRTC commissioners will review the disbursements of the LPIF as well as the annual reports filed by the LPIF administrator and funding recipients and will evaluate the success of the LPIF based on a set of pre-defined criteria as set out in Public Notice 2008-100. The Commission is further expected to conduct a review of the LPIF after its first year of operation and potentially after its third year of operation.
Back to top

 

17. Where can I get more information on the LPIF?

For more information about the LPIF interested persons may refer to: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2008/pb2008-100.htm and http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2009/2009-406.htm
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/1997/C97-426.HTM
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/1999/PB99-29.htm or contact the CRTC directly.
Back to top

 


 

 
 
Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy

EnglishPlan du siteContactez-nousPage d'acceuil
 

Canadian Association of Broadcasters

L'ACR
Activités de droit d'auteur
Secteur radio
Secteur télévision
Secteur télévision spécialisée et payante
Recherche et mémoires
Politique sociale
Bulletin-éclair de l'ACR
Membres de l'ACR
Liens aux sites d'intérêt
ce qu'il y a de neuf
 
Été 2013
Bulletin-éclair de l'ACR - Volume 2
Plus




Secteur télévision > FALP

Le Fonds pour l’amélioration de la programmation locale

Foire aux questions

  1. Qu’est-ce que le FAPL?
  2. Pourquoi le CRTC a-t-il créé le FAPL?
  3. D’où proviennent les sommes consacrées au FAPL?
  4. Les coûts associés au financement du FAPL dont s’acquittent les EDR seront-ils transférés aux consommateurs?
  5. Quelles stations de télévision auront droit à du financement?
  6. Comment le financement est-il alloué parmi les marchés et les stations?
  7. Quels sont les critères d’admissibilité?
  8. Qu’est-ce qui est considéré de la programmation locale et la présence locale?
  9. Quelles dépenses sont admissibles au financement?
  10. Quelles sont les modalités pour faire une demande de financement?
  11. Qui se charge d’administrer le FAPL?
  12. Quelle est la structure de gouvernance du FAPL?
  13. À quels intervalles le financement se fait-il aux stations admissibles?
  14. Quand est-ce que les stations de télévision admissibles recevront leur premier chèque?
  15. Quelles sont les obligations imposées aux bénéficiaires du financement?
  16. Quelle mesure de surveillance le Conseil exerce-t-il sur le FAPL?
  17. Où puis-je obtenir davantage de renseignements sur le FAPL?

 

 

1. Qu’est-ce que le FAPL?

Le Fonds pour l’amélioration de la programmation locale (FAPL) est un fonds qui, comme le laisse entendre son nom, a été mis sur pied pour aider à financer le coût de la programmation télévisuelle locale par les stations de télévision qui appartiennent à des entreprises privées ou à la SRC/CBC et sont exploitées par celles-ci. S’entend de programmation locale la programmation produite par les stations locales qui ont un personnel local ou une programmation créée par des producteurs indépendants locaux qui reflète les besoins et les intérêts propres à la population d’un marché. Selon les prévisions du CRTC, le FAPL disposera d’un total de 102 millions de dollars dans l’année de radiodiffusion 2009-2010.

Retour

 

2. Pourquoi le CRTC a-t-il créé le FAPL?

Le CRTC a créé le FAPL pour faire en sorte que les téléspectateurs dans les petits marchés (ceux ayant moins d’un million de personnes) continuent à recevoir une diversité de programmation locale, y compris les émissions de nouvelles locales, et pour améliorer la qualité et la diversité de la programmation locale qui est diffusée dans ces marchés.
Retour

 

3. D’où proviennent les sommes consacrées au FAPL?

L’avis public CRTC 2008-100 et la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2009-543 stipulent que les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) de classe 1 titulaires de licence qui desservent un minimum de 20 000 clients sont tenues de contribuer un pourcentage de leurs revenus. Les EDR titulaires de licence englobent toutes les EDR de classe 1 desservant un minimum de 20 000 abonnés. Les EDR titulaires de licence desservant moins de 20 000 abonnés au 31 août 2009 ne sont pas tenues de contribuer au FAPL. En vertu des politiques réglementaires de radiodiffusion CRTC 2009-406 et 2009-543, les EDR titulaires de licence sont tenues de contribuer 1,5 % des revenus bruts qu’elles ont gagnés pendant l’année de radiodiffusion 2008-2009.
Retour

 

4. Les coûts associés au financement du FAPL dont s’acquittent les EDR seront-ils transférés aux consommateurs?

Le CRTC note ce qui suit au paragraphe 357 de son avis public 2008-100 : « [c]ompte tenu des rendements dans le secteur des EDR et les avantages dont elles bénéficieront à la suite d’autres changements apportés à leur cadre de réglementation, le Conseil ne voit pas de raison pour que les coûts supplémentaires associés au FAPL – estimés en moyenne à 0,50 $ par mois – soient transférés à leurs abonnés. »

Retour

5. Quelles stations de télévision auront droit à du financement?

L’admissibilité au soutien financier du FAPL est établie par le CRTC. Selon l’avis public CRTC 2008-100, le financement du FAPL doit être acheminé aux stations de télévision locales qui diffusent en direct et qui appartiennent à des entreprises privées ou à la SRC/CBC et sont exploitées par celles-ci dans des marchés non métropolitains (soit les marchés télévisuels où le nombre de personnes ayant une connaissance de la langue officielle de la station s’établit à moins d’un million). Les stations de langue minoritaire (c.-à-d. les stations de langue française qui sont exploitées dans un marché de langue anglaise et vice versa) recevront du financement provenant de l’enveloppe de financement mis à la disponibilité des stations dans les marchés non métropolitains de la langue majoritaire.

Retour

6. Comment le financement est-il alloué parmi les marchés et les stations?

Un tiers du total du financement sera alloué en parts égales aux stations des marchés anglophones et francophones; le montant sera établi selon le nombre de stations admissibles au financement. Deux tiers du financement sera alloué selon l’historique des dépenses de programmation locale par les stations admissibles. Ce montant sera calculé en divisant la moyenne de l’historique des dépenses de programmation locale sur trois ans multipliée par la moyenne des dépenses de programmation locale sur trois ans d’une station individuelle. Trente pourcent de ce montant sera alloué aux marchés francophones et 70 % ira aux marchés anglophones. Le CRTC calcule le montant de financement qui sera alloué à toutes les stations admissibles.
Retour

 

7. Quels sont les critères d’admissibilité?

Pour être admissible à recevoir du financement, une station doit diffuser un seuil minimal de programmation locale dans la collectivité qu’elle dessert. Dans les cas où les seuils de programmation locale ont été harmonisés, les stations de langue anglaise desservant des marchés non métropolitains seront tenues de diffuser sept heures de programmation locale par semaine et les stations de langue française desservant des marchés non métropolitains seront tenues de diffuser cinq heures de programmation locale par semaine. Dans les cas où les seuils de programmation locale n’ont pas été harmonisés, les stations de télévision locales seront tenues de maintenir leur proportion actuelle de programmation locale si elles souhaitent être admissibles au financement.
Retour

 

8. Qu’est-ce qui est considéré de la programmation locale et la présence locale?

Tel qu’indiqué plus haut, s’entend de programmation locale la programmation produite par les stations locales qui ont un personnel local ou une programmation créée par des producteurs indépendants locaux qui reflète les besoins et les intérêts propres à la population d’un marché. Étant donné le caractère régional de certaines stations traditionnelles, le Conseil permettra à une station locale qui est historiquement ou actuellement autorisée à comptabiliser un certain nombre d’émissions régionales dans l’évaluation du respect de ses engagements et obligations au titre de la programmation locale de continuer à le faire afin de respecter les exigences se rapportant à l’accès au FAPL. Le Conseil encourage expressément les stations locales à maintenir une présence locale. S’entend de présence locale la fourniture sept jours par semaine de nouvelles locales originales propres au marché en embauchant des journalistes de terrain à temps plein dans le marché et en exploitant un bureau de nouvelles ou un bureau de collecte de l’information dans le marché.
Retour

 

9. Quelles dépenses sont admissibles au financement?

Seules les dépenses associées directement à la production de la programmation locale seront considérées admissibles. Dans sa circulaire no 426, le Conseil définit les dépenses directes comme étant celles qui sont entièrement et uniquement attribuables à l’acquisition ou à la production d’émissions. Elles comprennent, entre autres, les salaires et avantages des employés qui travaillent exclusivement au service de la programmation, les cachets d’artistes qui ne sont pas des employés, les pellicules, les bandes, les accessoires, les décors, les frais d’entretien des véhicules servant aux émissions ainsi que les matériaux et fournitures pour les émissions. Les dépenses liées à la fourniture du sous-titrage codé en direct des émissions locales par les stations des petits marchés appartenant à un propriétaire indépendant sont également admissibles.
Retour

 

10. Quelles sont les modalités pour faire une demande de financement?

Une demande n’est pas nécessaire. Le CRTC détermine les stations admissibles au financement. L’administrateur du Fonds informe toutes les stations admissibles (selon ce qui a été établi par le CRTC) et leur alloue automatiquement le financement.
Retour

 

11. Qui se charge d’administrer le FAPL?

Dans sa politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2009-406, le CRTC a désigné la firme McCay, Duff & Company Management Ltd. à titre d’administrateur du Fonds.

Retour

 

12. Quelle est la structure de gouvernance du FAPL?

Une société à but non lucratif, laquelle surveillera l’administration du FAPL, est en voie de mise sur pied. Cette société sera gouvernée par un conseil d’administration qui se composera de représentants et de bénéficiaires du FAPL ainsi que de contributeurs au FAPL. Le conseil d’administration se chargera de surveiller l’administration du FAPL selon les modalités d’administration précisées par le CRTC dans sa politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2009-406. En outre, conformément à l’avis public CRTC 1999-29, tous les membres du conseil d’administration seront canadiens; pas plus d’un tiers des membres du conseil d’administration représenteront des EDR; les représentants des EDR détiendront au plus un tiers des droits de vote lors des assemblées des administrateurs; et toutes les décisions seront prises par vote majoritaire. Il est exigé dans l’avis public CRTC 2008-100 que l’administrateur du Fonds remette un rapport annuel public faisant état des données qui permettront au Conseil d’évaluer la réussite du FAPL.
Retour

 

13. À quels intervalles le financement se fait-il aux stations admissibles?

Les stations de télévision admissibles recevront le financement du FAPL sur une base mensuelle. Pour en savoir davantage sur la façon dont cette mensualité est calculée, prière de consulter les paragraphes 23 à 25 de la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2009-543.
Retour

 

14. Quand est-ce que les stations de télévision admissibles recevront leur premier chèque?

Les stations admissibles recevront leur premier chèque tôt dans l’année de radiodiffusion 2009-2010.
Retour

 

15. Quelles sont les obligations imposées aux bénéficiaires du financement?

Les stations qui reçoivent du financement du FAPL seront tenues d’indiquer au CRTC, dans leur déclaration annuelle, le financement qu’elles ont reçu par l’entremise du FAPL et les dépenses annuelles associées au financement reçu du FAPL. Toutes les stations doivent remettre leur rapport annuel respectif au Conseil au plus tard le 30 novembre de chaque année. Ces rapports seront affichés sur le site Web du Conseil.

Retour

 

16. Quelle mesure de surveillance le Conseil exerce-t-il sur le FAPL?

Un groupe de trois conseillers du CRTC se chargera d’examiner les déboursements du FAPL et le rapport annuel qui est remis au Conseil par l’administrateur du FAPL ainsi que celui de chacun des bénéficiaires du financement. Ce groupe évaluera le succès du FAPL selon les critères établis à l’avance qui sont énoncés dans l’avis public 2008-100. Le Conseil doit également effectuer un examen du FAPL après sa première année de fonctionnement et potentiellement après sa troisième année de fonctionnement.
Retour

 

17. Où puis-je obtenir davantage de renseignements sur le FAPL?


Pour en savoir davantage sur le FAPL, consulter les documents suivants sur le site web du CRTC : http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/2008/pb2008-100.htm http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/2009/2009-406.htm
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/1997/C97-426.HTM
http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/1999/PB99-29.htm, ou communiquer directement avec le CRTC.
Retour


 

 
 
Conditions d'utilisation   |  Déclaration de confidentialité